SVOM

Probes of the distant Universe

Thanks to the possibility of observing the gamma-ray bursts in the optical and infrared, it is now known that they occur in very distant galaxies, so remote that some of them are listed as the most distant objects measured today. Considering the finite velocity of light, looking at far away objects is equivalent to looking back in time, to the past! Like ephemeral lighthouses in the cosmos, gamma-ray bursts allow us to probe the Universe at different times in its history and to better understand how galaxies formed over time.

Always further

These flashes are promising tools to probe the early Universe and therefore to be able to study its content and the different stages in its evolution. For example, the most distant burst identified to date, GRB090423, occurred 630 million years after the Big Bang, when the Universe was still in its prime youth.

img_mission09

Infrared image of gamma-ray burst counterpart GRB090423 obtained with the GEMINI telescope located in Hawaii. Credits: Gemini Observatory / NSF / AURA, D. Fox & A. Cucchiara (Penn State U.), and E. Berger (Harvard Univ.)

This long burst comes from a « collapsar »: the explosion of a very massive star that collapsed on itself under the effect of its own gravity. With a mass of at least 20 to 30 times the mass of the Sun, this rare star could be among the very first generations of stars. These stars, called « population III » stars, would be very massive, luminous and made up of only a few light elements (hydrogen, helium). They would have been formed barely 400 million years after the Big Bang but it is still unclear how. Their lifespan is short: a few million years. They are supposed to be partly responsible for the formation of other elements (heavier than hydrogen and helium) detected today in the local Universe. Gamma-ray bursts can thus inform scientists about the environment in which these stars are born. They thus contribute to the understanding of stellar evolution in the primordial Universe.

img_mission10

An artist’s view showing the incredible luminosity of the first generations of stars in the CR7 galaxy, located at 12.9 billion light years. These stellar populations could be partly composed of very massive stars, some of which would be at the origin of distant gamma ray bursts. Credits: ESO / M. Kornmesser

Furthermore, another interesting aspect of gamma-ray bursts consists in using their signal as a background light that successively crosses different regions between the burst and the Earth. These successive environments are crossed at different distances between the burst and us and therefore at different times. The imprints left in the light of the burst could then give indications on the elemental composition of the Universe throughout its history.

Gamma-ray bursts: a laboratory of extreme physics

The overwhelming energy of the burst, the velocity of the ejected particles and the successive shocks with the surrounding environment are all elements that classify gamma-ray bursts as laboratories of extreme physical conditions which in many cases are impossible to reproduce here on Earth.

The accelerated particle energy is orders of magnitude (up to one million) beyond what the most powerful terrestrial machines like the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) can produce today. Therefore, the study of physical processes in these extreme conditions makes it possible to better understand the conditions in other classes of objects.

One example of this is the nature and energy of particles propelled in jets at relativistic velocities, which is a phenomenon also evoked to explain the origin of eruptive episodes observed in blazars (active galaxies harboring a supermassive black hole of several million solar masses).

Gamma-ray bursts are also promising sources of neutrinos and very high energy cosmic radiation.

Extremely massive stars (hundreds of solar masses), according to several scenarios, cause a particular class of bursts: extremely distant, long bursts. The study of bursts as a consequence of the explosion of stars is a tool of choice to better identify the first generation of stars (called “population III” stars) and star formation in the early epochs of the universe. Another singular aspect of gamma-ray bursts regarding short bursts is the possibility that they are sources of gravitational waves. The coalescence of two compact objects (neutron star and / or black hole) is a likely scenario to explain this short bursts. Nevertheless, the different fusion phases or the product of the coalescence are still poorly understood. A common gamma-ray burst – gravitational wave detection would allow significant advances.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu & Jesse Palmerio

SVOM

Des sondes de l’Univers lointain

Grâce à la possibilité d’observer les sursauts gamma dans le domaine de la lumière visible et infrarouge, on sait désormais qu’ils se produisent dans des galaxies très lointaines, si éloignées que certaines d’entre elles sont répertoriées comme les objets les plus distants mesurés aujourd’hui. Or, compte tenu de la vitesse finie de la lumière, regarder loin c’est remonter le temps et ainsi observer loin dans le passé ! Tels des phares éphémères du cosmos, les sursauts gamma permettent donc de sonder l’Univers aux différentes époques de son histoire et de mieux comprendre comment les galaxies se sont formées au cours du temps.

Toujours plus loin

Ces flashs sont des outils prometteurs pour sonder l’Univers jeune, son contenu et pouvoir ainsi étudier les étapes de son évolution. Par exemple, le sursaut le plus lointain identifié à ce jour, GRB090423, s’est produit 630 millions d’années après le Big Bang, lorsque l’Univers était encore dans sa prime jeunesse.

img_mission09

Image infrarouge de la contrepartie du sursaut gamma GRB090423 obtenue avec le télescope GEMINI situé à Hawaii. Crédits : Gemini Observatory / NSF / AURA, D. Fox & A. Cucchiara (Penn State U.), and E. Berger (Harvard Univ.)

Ce sursaut long serait issu d’un « collapsar », explosion d’une étoile très massive qui s’est effondrée sur elle-même sous l’effet de son propre poids. Avec une masse d’au moins 20 à 30 fois celle du Soleil, cet astre rare pourrait faire partie des toutes premières générations d’étoiles. Ces étoiles, dites de “population III” seraient très massives, lumineuses et constituées seulement de quelques éléments légers (hydrogène, hélium). Elles auraient été formées à peine 400 millions d’années après le Big Bang mais on ignore encore comment. Leur durée de vie est courte, quelques millions d’années seulement. Elles sont supposées être en partie à l’origine des autres éléments formés au cours du temps et détectés aujourd’hui dans l’Univers proche. Les sursauts peuvent donc renseigner sur le milieu où ces étoiles sont nées. Ils contribuent ainsi à la compréhension de l’évolution stellaire dans l’Univers primordial.

img_mission10

Vision d’artiste montrant l’incroyable luminosité des premières générations d’étoiles dans la galaxie CR7, située à 12,9 milliards d’années-lumière. Ces populations stellaires pourraient être en partie composées d’étoiles très massives dont certaines seraient à l’origine des sursauts gamma lointains. Crédits : ESO/M. Kornmesser

Par ailleurs, un autre aspect intéressant des sursauts gamma consiste à utiliser leur signal comme une lumière d’arrière-plan qui traverse successivement les régions situées entre le sursaut et la Terre. Ces milieux étant franchis à des distances donc à des époques différentes, les empreintes laissées sur la lumière du sursaut pourraient alors donner des indications sur la teneur en éléments de l’Univers au cours de son histoire.

Les sursauts gamma, un laboratoire de physique des conditions extrêmes

La débauche d’énergie du sursaut, la vitesse des particules éjectées et les successifs chocs avec le milieu environnant sont autant d’éléments qui permettent de classer les sursauts gamma parmi les laboratoires de physique des conditions extrêmes, dans bien des cas impossibles à reproduire sur Terre.
L’énergie des particules accélérées est des ordres de grandeur (jusqu’à un million) au-delà de ce que les plus puissantes machines terrestres comme le Large Hadron Collider (LHC) peuvent aujourd’hui produire. De ce fait, l’étude des processus physiques dans ces condition extrêmes permet de mieux comprendre les conditions régnant dans d’autres classes d’objets.
A titre d’exemple, citons la nature et l’énergie des particules propulsées dans des jets à des vitesses relativistes, phénomènes aussi évoqués pour expliquer l’origine des épisodes éruptifs observés dans les blazars, des galaxies actives abritant un trou noir supermassif de plusieurs millions de masse solaire.

Autre portée majeure des processus physiques en jeu, les sursauts gamma figurent parmi les sources prometteuses de neutrino et de rayonnement cosmique de très haute énergie.
Les étoiles extrêmement massives (centaines de masses solaires) sont selon plusieurs scénarios à l’origine d’une classe particulière de sursauts, les sursauts longs très lointains. L’étude du sursaut, conséquence de l’explosion de l’étoile, est un outil de choix pour mieux cerner la première génération d’étoiles (étoiles dites de population III) et la formation stellaire dans les premières phases de l’univers. Un autre aspect singulier des sursauts gamma, les sursauts courts, repose sur la possibilité qu’ils soient des sources d’ondes gravitationnelles. La coalescence de deux astres compacts (étoile à neutron et/ou trou noir) est un scénario probable pour expliquer cette émission. Néanmoins, les phases de la fusion ou le résidu de la coalescence sont encore mal compris. Une détection commune sursaut gamma – ondes gravitationnelles permettrait des avancées significatives.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu