SVOM

GWAC (Ground-based Wide Angle Camera)

The main science objective of the Ground-based Wide Angle Camera (GWAC) is to observe  in optical (between 500 and 860 nm) the prompt emission of GRBs detected by ECLAIRs. The GWAC will consist of 36 Ø180mm cameras, totalling a FoV of ~5000 degrees2 i.e. roughly half of ECLAIRs FoV. Each camera will be equipped with a 4096×4096 E2V CCD.

GWAC

Engineering model of one GWAC module (4 cameras). The GWAC, once completed, will consist of 36 cameras. The first light is expected  in 2017. Credit: NAOC

The GWAC cameras will enable a systematic study of any optical emission prior to and during the  high-energy prompt emission phase reaching a 10s sensitivity of ~16 mag. in the V band. The characteristics of the GWAC are such that it will be a powerful tool to study the transient sky and to look for optical counterparts of gravitational wave events.

Two 60cm diameter telescopes and a network of 30cm diameter telescopes will complete the GWAC system. These robotic telescopes will promptly react to any transient source detected by the GWAC cameras and will help validating the detection.

The GWAC will be divided into two sub-sets, each of them consisting of 18 cameras and a Ø60cm  follow-up telescope. One part will be installed at CTIO in Chili and the other part at the ALI observatory in the west of Tibet.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu & Olivier Godet

SVOM

GWAC (Ground-based Wide Angle Camera)

L’objectif du GWAC  (Ground-based Wide Angle Camera) est d’observer dans le visible (entre 500 et 850 nm) l’émission prompte d’une partie des sursauts détectés par ECLAIRs. Cet ensemble est composé de 36 caméras de 180mm de diamètre couvrant un champ de vue d’environ 5000 degrés2 soit à peu plus que la moitié du champ de vue du télescope ECLAIRs. Chaque caméra est équipée d’un CCD 4096×4096 E2V.

GWAC

Modèle d’ingénierie d’un module GWAC (4 caméras). L’ensemble complet comportera 36 caméras. La première lumière est attendue pour 2017. Crédit : NAOC

Les caméras du GWAC permettront l’étude systématique de l’émission visible pendant et avant l’émission prompte à haute énergie avec une sensibilité d’environ 16 magnitudes dans la bande V (visible) pour un temps d’exposition de 10 sec. Les caractéristiques du GWAC font de cet instrument un outil performant pour l’étude du ciel transitoire comme par exemple la recherche des contreparties optiques des ondes gravitationnelles.

Deux télescopes de 60 cm et un réseau de télescope de 30cm compléteront l’installation. Ces télescopes robotiques réagiront aux sources transitoires détectées par le GWAC et valideront ou non la détection.

L’ensemble GWAC sera divisé en deux parties, composées chacune de 18 caméras et d’un télescope de suivi de 60cm. L’une sera installée au Chili à CTIO, l’autre à l’observatoire ALI à l’ouest du Tibet.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu