SVOM

History of a solved mystery

The discovery of gamma-ray bursts is recent. The first detection of this phenomenon was carried out by one of the military satellites of the Vela project, which began in 1963. During the Cold War, the United States and the USSR kept an eye out for the slightest act of belligerence, and particularly for nuclear tests. Despite the treaty on the prohibition of atomic tests in the atmosphere and space (signed in August 1963), the American army launched a reconnaissance mission to identify such traces. The Vela satellites were equipped with detectors of gamma-rays, X-rays and neutrons. On July 2nd 1967, the detectors went off: a very brief emission had been detected. After verification, it was clear that this gamma radiation was not of human origin, nor even terrestrial. But it was not until 1973 that this discovery was made public, once the military confidentiality had been lifted. Gamma-ray bursts quickly aroused the curiosity of the scientific community. There were many questions. What is the source of such flashes of light? By what mechanism(s)? Do they appear in our galaxy, the Milky Way, or in more distant galaxies, which would imply an even more colossal energy?

The map of the bursts

From 1991 onwards, NASA was able to collect crucial information thanks to the COMPTON space observatory, a giant satellite on which the Burst And Transient Source Experiment (BATSE) instrument was located. This mission revealed that gamma-ray bursts are divided into two distinct groups:

– short bursts (about 30% of the detected bursts) with high characteristic energy (about 1000 keV). Their duration is less than 2 seconds

– long bursts (70%) with a lower characteristic energy (of the order of 100 keV) and whose duration can reach several tens of minutes.

The BATSE experiment allowed the detection of more than 2500 gamma-ray bursts between 1991 and 2000 and a map of the sky was established. But for lack of a precise localization (a few square degrees) it was not possible to cross-identify bursts with celestial sources.

img_mission04

Each point on this sky map represented in galactic coordinates is a gamma-ray burst detected by BATSE. The color corresponds to the total energy perceived. BATSE detected 2704 gamma bursts between 1991 and 2000. In the coordinate system of this map, the center of the Milky Way is located in the center. Credits: NASA

This distribution is « isotropic »: the bursts are distributed randomly on the map indicating that they are either very close to the Earth, or very far, of extragalactic origin. No concentration of bursts along the plane of the Milky Way, symbolized on the map by the horizontal center line, appears. This most likely excludes candidates from our galaxy.

Broadening the field of study and deciphering distant sources

To determine the origin of gamma-ray bursts, it became necessary to locate them precisely in order to measure their distance. In April 1996 the Italian satellite BeppoSAX was launched. On 27 February 1997, the instruments on board the BeppoSAX satellite detected and localized the burst GRB970228. The precise location of the burst in the X-rays, rapidly transmitted to the ground, allowed scientists to point powerful ground telescopes located in La Palma in Spain towards the source. A weak and decreasing signal was detected. Thus, the existence of an afterglow emission was discovered. This late-time, weaker emission radiates in the X-rays, optical and radio waves. This discovery was pivotal: while X-rays and gamma rays are only observable from space, these other types of radiation allow partial follow-up from Earth! This eventually opened up a new field of study focused on the follow-up of gamma-ray bursts.

.

Emission rémanente du sursaut GRB970228 captée dans les rayons X : le phénomène va en s’atténuant avec le temps. crédits : NASA ASI/BeppoSAX

Afterglow emission of the burst GRB970228 captured in the X-rays: the brightness decreases with time. Credits: NASA ASI / BeppoSAX

A few months later on May 8th 1997, GRB970508, a new burst, was detected and localized in the X-rays by BeppoSAX. The precise localization of the burst allowed the Keck telescope on Hawaii to be pointed in its direction and thanks to the afterglow emission, a spectral analysis was performed. This allowed for an estimation of the burst’s distance with its redshift measurement (see also « Measurement Tools »). The redshift is a change in the wavelength of radiation in space, when its source moves away from the observer (Doppler effect): the higher the redshift, the farther away the source is. For the first time, the distance of a burst was calculated. In the case of the long burst GRB970508, the calculated redshift is 0.835, which is equivalent to 6 billion light years! The hypothesis of an extragalactic origin of the bursts was thus verified. It became clear to the community that a better understanding of gamma-ray bursts would involve the rapid transmission of a precise localization of the burst to a reactive network of ground-based telescopes.

Collaborating between ground and space

In October 2000 saw the launch of the HETE-2 (High Transient Explorer) mission take place. One of its specificities was to have a processor on board to rapidly calculate the position of the burst. Once the coordinates were established, they were sent to Earth via a radio transmitter and received by a network of 15 relay antennas deployed on the surface of the globe under the satellite’s path. This strategy made it possible to discover the afterglow of a short burst (GRB050709). The European satellite, INTEGRAL (INTErnational Gamma Ray Astrophysics Laboratory) was launched in orbit in 2002 and applied the coded mask technique for the detection of gamma-ray bursts. This mission, still in operation, discovered the polarization of the prompt emission of the bursts, reinforcing the fireball model.

Le masque codé de l’imageur IBIS

The coded mask of the imager IBIS (Imager on Board the INTEGRAL Satellite). Credits: Integral Science Data Center, University of Geneva

 

L’un des deux télescopes robotiques TAROT (Télescope à Action Rapide pour les Objets Transitoires), précurseur dans l’observation optique automatisée. Celui-ci est installé sur le plateau de Calern dans le sud de la France, l’autre se trouve à La Silla au Chili.

One of the two robotic telescopes TAROT (Rapid Action Telescope for Transitory Objects), a precursor in automated optical observations. This one is installed on the plateau of Calern in the south of France, the other one is in La Silla in Chile.

The SWIFT era

In 2004, a significant step was taken with the launch of the NASA SWIFT satellite equipped with a large field gamma telescope and a very sensitive X-ray camera. Another specificity of this mission is its particularly agile platform, which allows it to quickly slew in the direction of the burst in order to study its afterglow emission. By way of example, SWIFT detected on 23 April 2009 the most distant gamma ray burst to date: GRB090423. Its distance is estimated at 13 billion light years (redshift of 8.2) making it one of the most distant objects ever observed. This burst comes from the death of a massive star that took place 630 million years after the Big Bang (as a reminder, the Big Bang took place 13.7 billion years ago). This event testifies to the early ages of the Universe.

Le système d’alerte de la mission SWIFT repose sur l’ombre portée à travers un masque codé. Les motifs du masque sont réalisés grâce à un algorithme. Crédits : NASA

The alert system for the SWIFT mission is based on the shadow created by coded mask. The patterns of the mask are created with an algorithm. Credits: NASA

Ground robotic telescope networks were set up to monitor and study the alerts broadcast by the SWIFT satellite. For example, the TAROT telescope was specifically designed to target transient objects as quickly as possible. On September 4th 2005, this telescope allowed us to study the light emitted by the gamma-ray burst GRB050904, which took place when our Universe was only 900 million years old, or 7% of its present age. With a mirror of only 25 cm in diameter, TAROT detected an object located 12.8 billion light years away, which highlights the high energy aspect of gamma-ray bursts. The latest mission, the NASA Fermi satellite sent to orbit in 2008, extends the study of the prompt emission to higher energy bursts. Fermi notably detected GRB080916C, a gamma-ray burst whose released energy makes it the most violent electromagnetic explosion ever observed.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu & Jesse Palmerio

SVOM

Histoire d’un mystère résolu

La découverte des sursauts gamma est récente. La toute première détection de ce phénomène fut réalisée par un des satellites militaires du projet Vela, débuté en 1963. En ces temps de guerre froide, les États-Unis et l’URSS guettaient le moindre acte de belligérance, et notamment les traces d’essais nucléaires. Malgré la signature d’un traité portant sur l’interdiction des tests atomiques dans l’atmosphère et dans l’espace (signé en août de la même année), l’armée américaine lança une mission de reconnaissance destinée à repérer de telles traces. A bord des satellites Vela se trouvaient des détecteurs de rayons gamma, X et neutrons. Le 2 juillet 1967, les capteurs s’affolent, une émission très brève est détectée. Après vérification, il apparût clairement que ce rayonnement gamma n’était pas d’origine humaine, ni même terrestre. Mais il aura fallu attendre 1973 pour que soit rendue publique cette découverte, une fois la confidentialité militaire levée. Les sursauts gamma suscitèrent très vite la curiosité de la communauté scientifique. Les questionnements étaient nombreux. De quelle source proviennent de tels flashs de lumière ? Par quel(s) mécanisme(s) ? Apparaissent-ils dans notre galaxie, la Voie lactée, ou dans des galaxies plus lointaines, ce qui impliquerait une énergie encore plus colossale ?

La carte des sursauts

A partir de 1991, la NASA put récolter des informations cruciales grâce à l’observatoire spatial COMPTON, satellite géant sur lequel se trouvait l’instrument BATSE (Burst And Transient Source Experiment). Cette mission révéla que les sursauts gamma se répartissent en deux groupes distincts : * des sursauts courts (environ 30% des sursauts détectés) dont l’énergie caractéristique est élevée (environ 1000 keV). Leur durée est inférieure à 2 secondes * des sursauts longs (70%) avec une énergie caractéristique plus basse (de l’ordre de 100 keV) et dont la durée peut atteindre quelques dizaines de minutes. L’expérience BATSE a permis la détection de plus de 2500 sursauts gamma entre 1991 et 2000 et une carte du ciel a été établie. Mais faute d’une localisation précise, quelques degrés carrés, il n’a pas été possible d’identifier les sursauts avec des sources célestes.

img_mission04

Chaque point sur cette carte du ciel représentée en coordonnées galactiques est un sursaut gamma détecté par BATSE. La couleur correspond à l’énergie totale perçue. BATSE a détecté 2704 sursauts gamma entre 1991 et 2000. Dans le système de coordonnées de cette carte, le centre de la Voie lactée est situé au centre. Crédits : NASA

Cette répartition est “isotrope” : les sursauts sont présents aléatoirement sur la carte indiquant soit une origine très proche de la Terre, soit une origine plus lointaine, extragalactique. Aucune concentration de sursauts le long du plan de la Voie lactée, symbolisé sur la carte par la ligne centrale horizontale, n’apparaît. Ceci exclut très probablement des candidats appartenant à notre galaxie.

Augmenter le champ d’étude et déchiffrer le lointain

Pour cerner l’origine des sursauts gamma, il devenait indispensable de les localiser précisément afin pouvoir mesurer leur distance. En avril 1996 fut lancé le satellite italien BeppoSAX. Le 27 février 1997, les instruments à bord du satellite BeppoSAX détectèrent et localisèrent le sursaut GRB970228. La localisation précise du sursaut en rayons X, rapidement transmise au sol, permit alors de pointer en direction de la source de puissants télescopes terrestres situés à La Palma en Espagne. Un signal faible et décroissant fut détecté. C’est ainsi qu’a été mise au jour l’existence d’une émission rémanente. Ce sont des rayonnements tardifs et plus ténus dans le domaine des rayons X, de la lumière visible et des ondes radio. Cette découverte est fondamentale : alors que les rayons X et gamma ne sont observables que depuis l’espace, ces autres types de rayonnement permettent en partie un suivi depuis la Terre ! De quoi ouvrir un nouvel axe de recherche à l’étude des sursauts gamma.

Emission rémanente du sursaut GRB970228 captée dans les rayons X : le phénomène va en s’atténuant avec le temps. crédits : NASA ASI/BeppoSAX

Emission rémanente du sursaut GRB970228 captée dans les rayons X : le phénomène va en s’atténuant avec le temps. Crédits : NASA ASI/BeppoSAX

Quelques mois plus tard, le 8 mai 1997, GRB970508 un nouveau sursaut,  fut détecté et localisé en rayons X par BeppoSAX. La localisation précise du sursaut permit de pointer le télescope Keck de Hawaii dans sa direction. Grâce à sa durée et à l’émission rémanente, une analyse spectrale devenait possible, permettant de faire une estimation de distance avec la mesure du décalage vers le rouge (redshift), voir sur le même thème « outil de mesure ». Le décalage vers le rouge est une modification de la longueur d’onde d’un rayonnement dans l’espace, lorsque sa source s’éloigne par rapport à l’observateur (effet Doppler) : plus le décalage vers le rouge est élevé, plus l’objet est lointain. Pour la première fois, la distance d’un sursaut allait être calculée. Dans le cas du sursaut long GRB970508, le décalage vers le rouge calculé est de 0,835, ce qui équivaut à 6 milliards d’années-lumière ! L’hypothèse d’une origine extragalactique des sursauts était ainsi vérifiée. Il devenait clair, pour la communauté, qu’une meilleure compréhension des sursauts gamma passerait par la transmission rapide d’une localisation précise du sursaut à un réseau réactif de télescopes au sol.

Une collaboration entre le sol et l’espace

En octobre 2000 eut lieu le lancement de la mission HETE-2 (High Transient Explorer). L’une de ses particularités était d’embarquer un processeur à bord pour calculer la position du flash directement. Une fois les coordonnées établies, elles étaient envoyées sur Terre via un émetteur radio et réceptionnées grâce à un réseau de 15 antennes relais déployé à la surface du globe, sous la trace du satellite. Une stratégie qui permit notamment de découvrir la rémanence d’un sursaut court (GRB050709). Mis en orbite en 2002, le satellite européen INTEGRAL (INTErnational Gamma Ray Astrophysics Laboratory), appliqua la technique du masque codé pour la détection des sursauts gamma. Cette mission, toujours en opération, a découvert la polarisation de l’émission prompte des sursauts, renforçant le modèle de la boule de feu.

Le masque codé de l’imageur IBIS

Le masque codé de l’imageur IBIS (Imager on Board the INTEGRAL Satellite). Crédits : Integral Science Data Center, Université de Genève

 

L’un des deux télescopes robotiques TAROT (Télescope à Action Rapide pour les Objets Transitoires), précurseur dans l’observation optique automatisée. Celui-ci est installé sur le plateau de Calern dans le sud de la France, l’autre se trouve à La Silla au Chili.

L’un des deux télescopes robotiques TAROT (Télescope à Action Rapide pour les Objets Transitoires), précurseur dans l’observation optique automatisée. Celui-ci est installé sur le plateau de Calern dans le sud de la France, l’autre se trouve à La Silla au Chili.

L’ère de SWIFT

En 2004, un pas considérable fut franchi grâce au lancement du satellite de la NASA SWIFT, doté d’un télescope gamma grand champ et d’une caméra à rayons X très sensible. Autre particularité de cette mission, sa plateforme particulièrement agile permettant de s’orienter très rapidement dans la direction du sursaut dans le but d’étudier son émission rémanente. A titre d’exemple, SWIFT a détecté le 23 avril 2009 le sursaut gamma le plus éloigné à ce jour : GRB090423. Sa distance est estimée à 13 milliards d’années-lumière (redshift de 8,2) ce qui en fait l’un des objets les plus lointains jamais observés. Ce sursaut proviendrait de la mort d’une étoile massive qui aurait eu lieu 630 millions d’années après le Big Bang (pour rappel, le Big Bang a eu lieu il y a 13,7 milliards d’années). Cet évènement témoignerait des premiers âges de l’Univers.

Le système d’alerte de la mission SWIFT repose sur l’ombre portée à travers un masque codé. Les motifs du masque sont réalisés grâce à un algorithme. Crédits : NASA

Le système d’alerte de la mission SWIFT repose sur l’ombre portée à travers un masque codé. Les motifs du masque sont réalisés grâce à un algorithme. Crédits : NASA

Des réseaux de télescopes robotiques au sol furent mis en place pour suivre et étudier les alertes diffusées par le satellite SWIFT. Par exemple, le télescope TAROT a été spécifiquement conçu pour cibler le plus rapidement possible les objets transitoires. Le 4 septembre 2005, ce télescope permit d’étudier la lumière émise par le sursaut gamma GRB050904, qui a eu lieu alors que notre Univers était âgé de seulement 900 millions d’années, soit 7% de son âge actuel. Avec un miroir de seulement 25 cm de diamètre, TAROT a donc détecté un objet situé à 12,8 milliards d’années-lumière ce qui souligne le caractère très énergétique des sursauts gamma. La dernière mission en date, le satellite de la NASA Fermi envoyé en orbite en 2008, étend l’étude de l’émission prompte des sursauts à plus haute énergie. Fermi a notamment détecté GRB080916C, le sursaut gamma dont l’énergie libérée en fait l’explosion la plus violente jamais observée.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu