SVOM

MXT (Microchannel X-ray Telescope)

In response to alerts transmitted by the ECLAIRs, the Microchannel X-ray Telescope (MXT) will observe gamme ray bursts (GRBs) in the soft X-ray range (energy between 0.2 and 10 KeV), from the very beginning of their afterglow emission. The MXT is being developed in France by CNES and CEA/Irfu, in close collaboration with the University of Leicester in the United Kingdom and the Max-Planck Institute für extraterrestische Physik in Germany.

Instrument MXT

Sketch of the MXT: the diameter of the optics is 24 cm, the focal length is 1.15 m and the tube is made of carbon fiber. The optical module has a weight of 1.8 kg while the entire assembly (optics, tube, radiator, camera and on-board computer) weighs 35 kg. Credit: CEA / CNES

The MXT is composed by an optical module based on 40 mm sized micro-channel plates, making a so-called micro-pore optics (MPO), coupled to a focal plane camera equipped with an X-ray sensitive pnCCD.  The MXT will deliver images and spectra of sources in the 0.2-10 keV range with an energy resolution as good as ~75 eV (at 1.5 keV). The field of view of the instrument is 1.1° x 1.1°.

The MXT is conceived to locate sources much more precisely than the ECLAIRs does, with an accuracy of less than 1 arcmin, which increases up to ~20 arcsec in the case of very bright sources. This second step in the localization process will then permit, using also images obtained by the visible telescope VT, to refine the position of the observed sources. The position will be automatically calculated on board and transmitted to the ground via the VHF alert network.

With a detection sensitivity of ~10-12 erg/cm2/sec reachable in a ~10 kse (10 000 s) long observation, the MXT will be able to follow the evolution of the afterglow emission for a whole day after the initial prompt signal.

This sensitivity will enable the determination of the spectral index, which is the form of the energy distribution of the emission. This parameter is important because it permits to reconstruct the distribution of energetic particles responsible for the X-ray emission as well as obtain information on the physics of the shocks. Moreover, thanks to its soft operational band the MXT will allow to measure the absorption on the line of sight of the emission originating from the GRBs, which occurs both in the intergalactic medium and in the host galaxies.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu & Emanuele Perinati

SVOM

MXT (Microchannel X-ray Telescope)

En réponse à l’alerte transmise par ECLAIRs, le télescope MXT (Microchannel X-ray Telescope ou télescope X à micro-canaux) va procéder à l’observation du sursaut gamma dans le domaine des rayons X mous (énergie comprise entre 0.2 et 10 keV), en particulier au tout début de l’émission rémanente. Il est développé en France par le CNES et le CEA-Irfu, en étroite collaboration avec l’Université de Leicester au Royaume-Uni et le Max-Planck Institut für Extraterrestische Physik de Garching en Allemagne.

Instrument MXT

Schéma descriptif de l’appareil au complet : Le diamètre de l’optique est de 24 cm, la distance focale de 1,15 m et la structure est composée en fibre de carbone. Le module optique a un poids de 1,8 kg tandis que l’ensemble (optique, tube, radiateur, caméra et ordinateur de bord) pèse 35 kg. Crédit : CEA/CNES

Le télescope est composé d’un module optique, constitué d’un ensemble de galettes de micro-canaux (Micro-Pore Optics, MPOs) de 40 microns de côté, associé à une caméra avec un détecteur CCD sensible aux rayons X (0.3-10 keV). MXT fournira des images ainsi que des spectres des sources dans la gamme des rayons X avec une résolution en énergie de 75 eV à 1,5 keV. Le champ de vue de l’instrument est de 1,1°x 1,1°.
Le concept du télescope va permettre une localisation du sursaut beaucoup plus précise que l’instrument ECLAIRs, inférieure à la minute d’arc, 20 secondes d’arc dans le cas d’un sursaut brillant. Cette seconde étape dans la localisation du sursaut, fournie par l’instrument MXT, permettra ensuite à partir des images obtenues par le télescope optique VT de fournir une position raffinée. La position MXT calculée automatiquement à bord sera également transmise au sol grâce au réseau d’alerte VHF.

Avec une sensibilité de détection de 10−12 erg cm−2 s−1, atteinte pour un temps d’observation de 10 ksec (10 000 secondes) MXT sera capable de suivre typiquement l’évolution de l’émission rémanente X du sursaut  jusqu’à un jour après l’émission prompte initiale.
Cette sensibilité permettra de déterminer l’index spectral c’est-à-dire la forme de la distribution en énergie de l’émission. Ce paramètre est important car il permet de remonter à la distribution des particules énergétiques responsables de l’émission X et par la même de fournir des informations sur la physique des chocs. La gamme d’énergie de MXT permet également de mesurer l’absorption sur la ligne de visée de l’émission provenant du sursaut gamma, absorption liée au milieu intergalactique mais également à la galaxie hôte du sursaut.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu