SVOM

The ECLAIRs telescope

The ECLAIRs telescope plays a key role onboard SVOM by autonomously detecting Gamma-ray bursts (GRBs) in near real time in the X-/Gamma-ray energy range, and then by quickly providing their position in the sky.

The ECLAIRs consortium is made up of several French labs: IRAP, IRFU & APC. The ECLAIRs telescope is under the CNES supervision.

dessin-ECLAIRs

Figure showing the ECLAIRs telescope. Credit : CEA/CNES

The ECLAIRs instrument is made up of:

  • an X-/Gamma-ray wide-field (89°x89°) coded-mask camera working in the 4 – 250 keV energy range. Each photon passing through the holes in the mask can interact with one (or more) of the 6400 CdTe detectors paving the detection plane called DPIX. The detectors are operated at a temperature of -20°C.
  • a data processing unit called UGTS in charge of operating the telescope, managing the data flow acquisition and searching in near real time for the appearance of new GRBs within the ECLAIRs field-of-view (FoV).

The ECLAIRs wide (2 sr) FoV provides large coverage of the sky. At the top of the instrument there is a coded mask that consists of opaque and transparent elements arranged in a quasi-random pattern. The mask pattern was designed using a mathematical algorithm. The GRB photons can only pass through the transparent elements (i.e. holes). These photons then interact with the DPIX detectors. The resulting image called a shadowgram encloses a partial shadow of the mask. By using deconvolution techniques, it is possible to retrieve the GRB position. The UGTS builds for each detected event a  »photon frame message » including the arrival time, the position on the DPIX and the energy of the event.

Once ECLAIRs triggers on an unknown source (e.g. a GRB), an alert is triggered and immediately sends it to the platform and the ground via the VHF antenna network. If the source is observable by the satellite, the platform will quickly slew to repoint the narrow-field instruments MXT & VT towards the ECLAIRs position in order to search for an X-ray and optical counterpart, respectively.

GRBs are expected to be detected by ECLAIRs with a localisation accuracy better than 10 arcminutes (though as good as 3 arcminutes for very bright GRBs). The ECLAIRs GRB detection rate is expected to be around 70 GRBs per year.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu & Olivier Godet

SVOM

Télescope ECLAIRs

Instrument clé de la mission SVOM, ECLAIRs est un dispositif expérimental dont le but est de détecter les sursauts gamma dans la bande des rayons X et des rayons gamma de basse énergie et de fournir à bord, le plus rapidement possible, leur position dans le ciel. Placé sous la responsabilité du CNES, le télescope ECLAIRs est développé par les laboratoires français IRAP, IRFU et APC.

dessin-ECLAIRs

Anatomie du télescope ECLAIRs. Crédit : CEA/CNES

L’instrument ECLAIRs est constitué :

  • d’un télescope X et gamma à grand champ (89°x89°) doté d’un masque codé capable de détecter des photons dont l’énergie est comprise entre 4 et 250 keV. Les rayons passés au travers des trous du masque activent le plan focal DPIX, plaque refroidie à -20°C sur laquelle sont disposés 6400 détecteurs en tellurure de cadmium CdTe.
  • d’une unité de gestion et de traitement scientifique UGTS, dédiée à la gestion du télescope, à l’acquisition des données et au traitement scientifique en temps réel pour le déclenchement de l’alerte sursaut.

Le grand champ de vue du télescope ECLAIRs (2 stéradians) permet de couvrir une large partie de la voute céleste. A l’extrémité de l’instrument se trouve le masque codé, une plaque percée de multiples trous répartis de manière pseudo aléatoire et dont le motif a été mis au point grâce à un algorithme mathématique. Les photons provenant du sursaut ne peuvent passer que par les trous du masque et viennent ensuite activer une partie des détecteurs du DPIX. Sur le principe de l’ombre portée, cette technique va permettre de déterminer dans quelle zone du ciel se situe la source. L’unité UGTS construit alors un “message photon”, incluant le temps d’arrivée, la position et l’énergie.
Lorsqu’une source transitoire est détectée par ECLAIRs, l’alerte est déclenchée. Celle-ci est transmise au satellite et au sol grâce au réseau VHF. Si la source est accessible par le satellite, il est alors repointé : en glissant légèrement, il va s’aligner dans l’axe de la source pour permettre les observations de suivi des télescopes MXT et VT.

ECLAIRs fournit une précision de localisation inférieure à 10 minutes d’arc (elle peut atteindre 3 minutes d’arc pour les sursauts très brillants). Le nombre de sursauts qui seront détectés par cet instrument est estimé à 70 par an.

Infos

Publié le
Auteur : CEA / Irfu